What is NIGP?

NIGP is a National organization formed in the United States in 1944 with Chapters across North America and now internationally with the following purposes:

  • to do all things necessary for the purpose of maintaining and raising the standards and ethics of the governmental purchasing departments, agencies and organizations;
  • to conduct professional education activities;
  • to promote effective centralized public purchasing;
  • to exchange information on products, manufacturers, policies, procedure and general information useful to purchasing agents;
  • to advise the legislative bodies, federal procurement agencies and the buying agencies of states, counties, cities, villages, towns, boroughs, provinces, publicly-owned utilities, public schools and colleges, prisons, governmental hospitals and other institutions, and other tax-support buying agencies, public authorities and similar ad hoc agencies on legislation and on all problems affecting public purchasing and the general welfare of the members and the agencies which they represent and their agents and employees;
  • to develop and perfect standards, practices and specifications for the use of members;
  • to develop and promote the acceptance and passage of uniform laws and procedures for all governmental purchasing.

Further Information on the National Organization can be found by clicking the NIGP, the Institute for public procurement logo on the top right of this page.

What is the Assiniboia Chapter of NIGP?

We are the local Chapter of NIGP, with our goal and mission to provide networking, training and certification opportunities for National and Chapter members in the province of Saskatchewan.

We hold 5-6 Chapter meetings a year, attempting to bring in speakers to these meetings as well, and discuss training requirements and give all members a change to network and share ideas and assist others with problems or questions.

We typically try to bring in 1 to 2 Chapter sponsored training sessions for our members and non-members alike each year, with a focus to bring in what the members are looking for to grow their public procurement knowledge and expertise, as well as prepare for certification or recertification.

The training provided, through chapter sponsored sessions, other outside chapter hosted events, or NIGP National training seminars all counts towards the educational requirements to become a Certified Professional Public Buyer (CPPB) or a Certified Professional Public Officer (CPPO). We annually send our Chapter President to the Annual NIGP Forum and Products Exposition each year where they attend seminars, meetings and collaboration sessions with thousands of National members from around the globe.

As public procurement professionals and a Chapter of NIGP, we uphold a Code of Ethics and procurement standards and expect to act in the best interests of the public and ensure public procurement's image is held in high regard.

Interested parties can view our Mission and Values statement, Code of Ethics and Constitution and Bylaws documents via the links on this page.

Chapter History

In 1992/93, through the efforts of Ken Babich, the chapter was in the early stages of being formed.

On January 19, 1993 a request was put forward to NIGP national office to break away from the Edmonton based Canada West Chapter.

On August 3rd, 1993, at the annual Forum Exposition in Edmonton, we received formal status and we were sworn in as the Assiniboia Chapter of NIGP and Ken Babich went onto become our very first Chapter President!

Throughout our 20+ year history, Many members have served as our President as well as our executive and contributed to the overall success and well being of the Chapter. Those past Presidents are, In chronological order:

  • Ken Babich, 1993 - 1st President and founding member
  • Elene Fromanger, 1994
  • Ralph Gilbert, 1995 & 1996 (who went on to become the Canadian board member on the National NIGP board)
  • Aletta Gross, 1997
  • Darinka Schiissler, 1998
  • Rob Ellis, 1999 & 2000
  • Roy Coomber, 2001
  • David Gower, 2002 & 2003
  • Charlotte Dusyk, 2004 & 2005
  • Dick Lamb, 2006 & 2007
  • Doug Zimmer, 2008 & 2009
  • Victor Zimmer, 2010 & 2011
  • David Gower, 2012 & 2013
  • Doug Zimmer, 2014 & 2015
  • Dave Gower, 2016 & 2017
  • Susan Kozey, 2018 & 2019 ← Current President